Jean-Louis Etienne
 
 
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Alone on Ice pack
How man copes with the cold
 
Communications - Safety - Emergency assistance
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Atmosphere & weather
The earth’s atmosphere  
 
Weather forecasting and modeling  
 
The climate and the north pole  
 
The solar energy balance  
 
The greenhouse effect  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Arctic ice
The ice pack: frozen saltwater  
 
Ice pack observation satellites  
 
Icebergs : frozen seawater  
 
The arctic ice: climate archives  
 
Ice ages and landscapes  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - The ocean and marine life
The Arctic Ocean and the ocean currents  
 
Genesis of the arctic ocean  
 
Arctic plankton  
 
Oceanic biodiversity and the food chain  
 
Whales and other cetaceans  
 
Seals and walruses  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Life on land
Arctic flora  
 
Arctic fauna  
 
Polar bears  
 
Birds of the arctic  
 
Evolution of species and climate  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - History and geography
Geography of the Arctic regions  
 
Geographic North Pole and magnetic North Pole  
 
Who owns the arctic ?  
 
Exploring the deep north  
 
The Inuit people  
 
The other peoples of the deep North  
 
The Arctic today  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Man's impact
Man and arctic biodiversity  
 
Pollution in the arctic  
 
Climate warming: the natural cycles  
 
The increase in the greenhouse effect  
 
The impact of global warming  
 
 
 
Arctic ice
Ice pack observation satellites
 
 

Remote surveillance: the Earth seen from space
Artificial satellites have revolutionised the way we see our planet; they are now used to map the Earth, to trace roads, to monitor the spread of cities, to forecast crop harvests, and to monitor everything from volcanoes, clouds and forests to oceans and ice packs. Satellites can take measurements and make observations from far out in space without coming into contact with what they are monitoring; this is known as remote sensing or surveillance.

Satellite imagery, even at night
Earth observation satellites, often hundreds of kilometres out in space, orbit the Earth about 15 times every 24 hours. They closely observe each region on a regular basis. Some are simply designed to record the natural light that is reflected by the ground or the atmosphere. Others send down radar signals and record the echoes, this gathering data even at night and when the ground is obscured by cloud.

Ground-truthing the interpretation of satellite imagery
Once satellites send data back to Earth, it is processed into images with “false colours” depicting the different surfaces. Each type of surface (rock, water, cropland) sends back a different wave, called its spectral signature, which is allotted a colour. But in order to be sure the system works, the results must eventually be verified via “ground-truthing” by teams in the field. This is why the observations being made by Jean-Louis Etienne and his team on the pack ice are indispensable.
In order to be sure of what is seen or measured via satellite, the data must be “ground-truthed”, i.e. the interpretation of satellite imagery must be verified by benchmarking against sample measurements taken on the ground.

Studying the pack ice with QuikSCAT
The Arctic Ocean is a huge and inhospitable region that cannot easily be studied from the surface, so it is an ideal candidate for remote sensing. The American QuikSCAT satellite is equipped with a radar system that can use the surface appearance of a target zone to measure the speed and direction of wind on the ocean and can monitor the movement of polar pack ice. Using this satellite data, scientists can draw up ice maps to learn more about how the ice is changing and how it could react to climate variations.

Cryosat: measuring the thickness of the sea ice
Satellite imagery has allowed scientists to measure how much the ice pack has shrunk over the last ten years. Now the Cryosat satellite will be used to measure the thickness of the ice. This data will be important for monitoring changes in the ice pack and their impact on global warming.

   
 
 
 
 
Contact Newsletter Help Credits Legal information Media
Jean-Louis Etienne  Version française
Septième continent - La maison d'édition

Jean-Louis Etienne
 
 
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Seul sur la banquise
L'adaptation de l'homme au froid
 
Transmission –Sécurité - Secours
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Atmosphère et météo
L'atmosphère terrestre  
 
Prévision météo et modélisation  
 
Le climat polaire  
 
Le bilan énergétique solaire  
 
L'effet de serre  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Glaces arctiques
Banquise : glace de mer  
 
Les satellites observent la banquise  
 
Icebergs : glace d'eau douce  
 
Les glaces : archives du climat  
 
Glaciations et paysages  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Océan et vie marine
L’Arctique et la circulation océanique  
 
Genèse de l’océan Arctique  
 
Le plancton arctique  
 
Biodiversité marine et réseau alimentaire  
 
Baleines et autres Cétacés  
 
Phoques et Morses  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Vie terrestre
La flore polaire  
 
La faune polaire  
 
L'ours blanc  
 
Les oiseaux de l'Arctique  
 
Evolution des espèces et climat  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Histoire et géographie
Géographie des régions arctiques  
 
Pôle Nord géographique, Pôle Nord Magnétique  
 
A qui appartient l'Arctique ?  
 
Les découvreurs du Grand Nord  
 
Les Inuits  
 
Les autres peuples du Grand Nord  
 
L'Arctique aujourd'hui  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Impact de l'homme
L'homme et la biodiversité arctique  
 
Pollutions en Arctique  
 
Réchauffement : les cycles naturels  
 
L'augmentation de l'effet de serre  
 
Les conséquences du réchauffement  
 
 
 
Glaces arctiques
Les satellites observent la banquise
 
 

La télédétection : la Terre vue du ciel
Cartographier la Terre, préciser le tracé des routes et l'étendue des villes, prévoir les récoltes, surveiller volcans, forêts, océans ou glaces, observer les nuages : les satellites artificiels ont révolutionné notre perception de la planète. Ils effectuent mesures et observations à distance, sans contact matériel avec la surface étudiée : c'est ce que l'on appelle la télédétection.

Des images, même la nuit
Les satellites de télédétection voyagent à quelques centaines de kilomètres au-dessus de nos têtes, faisant une quinzaine de tours du monde par jour. Ils observent régulièrement et avec précision chaque région. Certains captent simplement la lumière naturelle renvoyée par le sol ou l'atmosphère. D'autres envoient vers le sol leurs propres ondes radars, dont ils enregistrent les échos ; ce système permet de "voir" même de nuit et à travers les nuages.

Valider au sol l’interprétation des images satellitales
Les informations reçues à Terre sont analysées, retraitées et présentées sous forme d'images en "fausses couleurs". Chaque type de surface (roche, eau, champ...) renvoie en effet une série d'ondes qui la caractérise : c'est sa "signature spectrale", traduite par une couleur. pour être sûr de ce que l'on voit ou ce que l’on mesure , il faut étalonner les images, c'est-à-dire vérifier au sol les interprétations des images satellitales. Pour cela, des observations comme celles de Jean-Louis Etienne sur la banquise sont indispensables.

Quand QuikSCAT ausculte la banquise
L'océan Arctique, vaste et inhospitalier, ne peut pas être étudié aisément depuis la surface ; c'est un domaine de choix pour la télédétection. Le satellite américain QuikSCAT est équipé d'un système radar capable de mesurer, d'après l'aspect de la surface, vitesse et direction des vents sur l'océan et mouvements de la banquise. Les cartes établies aident à comprendre l'évolution des glaces et leur réponse éventuelle aux variations climatiques.

Cryosat pour mesurer l’épaisseur de la banquise
Les satellites on permis de suivre la régression de la surface de la glace des dix dernières années. Le satellite Cryosat va permettre d’en mesurer l’épaisseur, un élément important pour suivre son évolution et ses conséquences sur le réchauffement climatique.

   
 
 
 
 
Contact Lettre d'information Aide Crédits Mentions légales Espace presse
Jean-Louis Etienne  English version
Septième continent - La maison d'édition