Le ballon
A balloon crossing of the Polar ice has still never been achieved. This will be the last act in my trilogy of solo North Pole expeditions. After reaching the Pole by pulling a dog sled for 63 days in 1986, and then drifting for four months on the sea ice in the Polar Observer in 2002, I am now preparing to undertake a balloon crossing in April 2010.
The balloon will be a Rozière type, supported by a combination of helium and hot air, like the Breitling Orbiter balloon used on their round-the-world flight by Bertrand Piccard and Brian Jones. The nacelle will be specially designed for a Polar flight.
During the flight, I will be taking two types of continuous measurements: the level of CO2 in the atmosphere (for the CEA-CNRS Department of Climate & Environmental Sciences) and the Earth’s magnetic field (for the Institute of Global Physics-LETI-CEA).
In embarking on this daring adventure, worthy of the novels of Jules Verne, I want to draw the world’s attention to: the shrinking of the Polar sea ice and its impact on the lifestyle of the native peoples of the North; the state of Arctic biodiversity; and the planet-wide climatic chaos that will ensue if the Polar ice disappears. The sea ice is the best indicator we have of the effectiveness of the measures that Man must take to curb global warming.

Le ballon
La Traversée du pôle Nord en Ballon n’a encore jamais été réalisée. Ce sera le dernier acte de la trilogie de mes expéditions au pôle Nord en solitaire. Après avoir atteint le pôle en tirant mon traîneau pendant 63 jours en 1986, dérivé quatre mois sur la banquise à bord du Polar Observer en 2002, je prépare ce vol pour avril 2010.

Le ballon est une rozière, un ballon mixte hélium / air chaud, du même type que le Breitling Orbiter autour du monde de Bertrand Piccard et Brian Jones. La nacelle est spécialement construite pour cette traversée polaire.

Deux mesures en continu seront effectuées : le CO2 atmosphérique pour le Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l’Environnement - CEA-CNRS, et le champ magnétique terrestre pour l’Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris-LETI-CEA.

Par cette aventure audacieuse, digne des romans de Jules Verne, je souhaite attirer l’attention du monde sur la régression de la banquise et ses conséquences sur la vie des peuples autochtones, la biodiversité arctique et le chaos climatique à l’échelle planétaire qu’engendrerait sa disparition. La banquise est le meilleur indice de performance des mesures que l’humanité doit engager contre le réchauffement climatique.