• Lighter-than-air ships  
  • How man copes with the cold  
  • Organisation of the measurement flights  
  • Flying conditions and risks during the expedition  
  • The measurement campaign  
  • Communications - Safety - Emergency assistance  
  • Earth observation satellites  
  • Our airship  
  • The earth's atmosphere  
  • Weather forecasting and modeling  
  • The climate and the north pole  
  • The solar energy balance  
  • The greenhouse effect  
  • The ice pack: frozen saltwater  
  • Icebergs : frozen seawater  
  • The arctic ice: climate archives  
  • Ice ages and landscapes  
  • The Arctic Ocean and the ocean currents  
  • Genesis of the arctic ocean  
  • Arctic plankton  
  • Oceanic biodiversity and the food chain  
  • Whales and other cetaceans  
  • Seals and walruses  
  • Arctic flora  
  • Arctic fauna  
  • Polar bears  
  • Birds of the arctic  
  • Evolution of species and climate  
  • Geography of the Arctic regions  
  • Geographic North Pole and magnetic North Pole  
  • Who owns the arctic?  
  • Exploring the deep north  
  • The Inuit people  
  • The other peoples of the deep North  
  • The Arctic today  
  • Man and arctic biodiversity  
  • Pollution in the arctic  
  • Climate warming: the natural cycles  
  • The increase in the greenhouse effect  
  • The impact of global warming  
 

Man's impact
Man and arctic biodiversity
 

The Arctic: habitats found nowhere else in the world
The Arctic includes a variety of habitats – mountains, lakes, rivers, estuaries, ice packs, ocean – but each of them is subject to strong winds and extreme cold as well as a very particular pattern of seasons. Throughout the Arctic, life exists and grows thanks to unique ecological and physiological adaptations that are a fascinating subject of study.

Very special forms of life
In the Deep North, there are fewer species than in warmer regions (apart from a few plant groups such as willows, and certain birds and insects), but there are often large numbers of individuals present in each case: huge colonies of seabirds, herds of reindeer and groups of lemmings, etc. The flora and fauna of the Arctic are genetically quite varied, and as such they contribute to the biological diversity of planet Earth.

A fragile milieu
Humans and their various activities – fishing, hunting, mining, oil production and now tourism – have been invading the Arctic in increasing numbers for more than a century now. And our presence has had an impact: stocks of some species of fish are diminishing, heavy vehicles have destroyed soil cover, food chains (polar bears, cetaceans, Man) have been polluted, etc. And of course global warming is endangering polar ecosystems.

Conserving our natural heritage
A number of initiatives – nature reserves, lists of protected species (whales, seabirds, seals, etc.), international conventions and programmes, fishing quotas – are now under way to try to safeguard the Arctic. After all, the Arctic does not just provide humans with resources (food, energy, medicines, etc.), its magnificent landscapes also satisfy deep emotional needs (arts and crafts, native beliefs, etc.).

• Les plus "légers que l'air"  
  • L'adaptation de l'homme au froid  
  • Organisation des vols sur la banquise  
  • Conditions de vol au cours de l’expédition  
  • Campagnes de mesures  
  • Transmission –Sécurité - Secours  
  • Les satellites observent la terre  
  • Visite de notre dirigeable  
  • L'atmosphère terrestre  
  • Prévision météo et modélisation  
  • Le climat polaire  
  • Le bilan énergétique solaire  
  • L'effet de serre  
  • Banquise : glace de mer  
  • Icebergs : glace d'eau douce  
  • Les glaces : archives du climat  
  • Glaciations et paysages  
  • L’Arctique et la circulation océanique  
  • Genèse de l’océan Arctique  
  • Le plancton arctique  
  • Biodiversité marine et réseau alimentaire  
  • Baleines et autres Cétacés  
  • Phoques et Morses  
  • La flore polaire  
  • La faune polaire  
  • L'ours blanc  
  • Les oiseaux de l'Arctique  
  • Evolution des espèces et climat  
  • Géographie des régions arctiques  
  • Pôle Nord géographique, Pôle Nord Magnétique  
  • A qui appartient l'Arctique ?  
  • Les découvreurs du Grand Nord  
  • Les Inuits  
  • Les autres peuples du Grand Nord  
  • L'Arctique aujourd'hui  
  • L'homme et la biodiversité arctique  
  • Pollutions en Arctique  
  • Réchauffement : les cycles naturels  
  • L'augmentation de l'effet de serre  
  • Les conséquences du réchauffement  
 

Impact de l'homme
L'homme et la biodiversité arctique
 

L'Arctique : des habitats uniques au monde
Montagnes, marécages, lacs, fleuves, estuaires, glaces, océan : les visages de l'Arctique sont multiples, mais tous soumis au froid, au vent et à un rythme saisonnier très particulier. Partout, la vie se développe grâce à des adaptations écologiques et physiologiques uniques au monde, qui sont autant de richesses à étudier.

Un monde vivant si singulier
Dans le Grand Nord, les espèces sont moins nombreuses que dans les régions plus clémentes (mis à part quelques groupes comme les saules, certains insectes ou oiseaux) mais elles renferment souvent une multitude d'individus : immenses colonies d'oiseaux de mer, troupeaux de rennes, de lemmings, etc. Par leur variété individuelle (génétique), plantes et animaux de l'Arctique participent à la diversité biologique de notre planète.

Un milieu fragile
Pêche, chasse, exploitations minières et pétrolières, industries et aujourd'hui tourisme : l'Homme s'implante depuis plus d'un siècle de façon intensive dans le milieu arctique. Mais pas sans conséquences : certains stocks de poissons baissent, les engins de chantier détruisent les sols, la pollution infiltre les réseaux alimentaires (ours blancs, cétacés, hommes), etc. Quant au réchauffement climatique, il menace bien sûr les écosystèmes polaires.

Conserver notre patrimoine naturel
Réserves naturelles, espèces protégées (baleines, oiseaux, phoques...), conventions et programmes internationaux, quotas de pêche : de multiples actions se mettent en place pour tenter de préserver l'Arctique. Car attention : nous puisons dans la nature nombre de ressources (nourriture, énergie, médicaments, ...), sans oublier les profondes émotions qu'apportent la beauté des paysages (arts, croyances...).